Gatto’s 7 Lesson School Teacher

John Taylor Gatto taught in the NY public school system for 30 years. After his 30th year, for which he was awarded the state teacher of the year, he abruptly resigned. He now writes and speaks about the inherent problems with America’s form of compulsory schooling.

In his essay The 7 Lesson School Teacher, Mr. Gatto discusses the reality of what a schoolteacher teaches. Here are excerpts from the the first four lessons.

The first lesson I teach is confusion. Everything I teach is out of context…  I teach the unrelating of everything.  I teach disconnections.  I teach too much: the orbiting of planets, the law of large numbers, slavery, adjectives, architectural drawing, dance, gymnasium, choral singing, assemblies, surprise guests, fire drills, computer languages, parent’s nights, staff-development days, pull-out programs, guidance with strangers you may never see again, standardized tests, age-segregation unlike anything seen in the outside world… what do any of these things have to do with each other?

The second lesson I teach is your class position.  I teach that you must stay in class where you belong.  I don’t know who decides that my kids belong there but that’s not my business.  The children are numbered so that if any get away they can be returned to the right class…

The third lesson I teach kids is indifference.  I teach children not to care about anything too much, even though they want to make it appear that they do.  How I do this is very subtle.  I do it by demanding that they become totally involved in my lessons, jumping up and down in their seats with anticipation, competing vigorously with each other for my favor.

The fourth lesson I teach is emotional dependency.  By stars and red checks, smiles and frowns, prizes, honors and disgraces I teach you to surrender your will to the predestined chain of command.  Rights may be granted or withheld by any authority, without appeal because rights do not exist inside a school, not even the right of free speech, the Supreme Court has so ruled, unless school authorities say they do.

I encourage you to read the whole essay here.

 

This entry was posted in News and Notes and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment